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 The International Football Association Board (IFAB) revised Law 11 
(Offside) effective 1 July 2005 by, among other things, incorporating definitions of 
what it means to “interfere with play,” “interfere with an opponent,” and “gain an 
advantage by being in an offside position.”  The USSF Advice to Referees 
section of Memorandum 2005 ended its discussion of the addition of these three 
definitions by noting: 

 
Referees are reminded that the reference to “playing or touching 
the ball” does not mean that an offside infraction cannot be called 
until an attacker in an offside position actually touches the ball. 

 
Because of recent developments which appear to focus on “touching the 

ball,” there has been some confusion about the above statement.  “Touching 
the ball” is not a requirement for calling an offside violation if the attacker 
is interfering with an opponent by making a movement or gesture which, in 
the opinion of the referee, deceives or distracts that opponent.  What the 
International Board has recently emphasized is that, in the unlikely event an 
attacker in an offside position is not challenged by any opponent, the attacker 
should not be ruled offside unless and until the attacker physically touches the 
ball.   

 
This emphasis is both simple and easily implemented: 

 
• An attacker in an offside position who is not challenged by any 

opponent and not competing for the ball with a teammate coming 
from an onside position who could, in the opinion of the officiating 
team, get to the ball first should not be ruled offside for interfering 
with play or gaining an advantage unless that attacker actually 



touches the ball.  In a close race between an onside and an offside 
attacker, it would be necessary to see which player touches the ball 
before deciding if an offside offense has occurred. 

 
• An attacker in an offside position whose gestures or movements, in 

the opinion of the officiating team, cause an opponent to challenge 
for the ball has interfered with an opponent and should be ruled 
offside whether the attacker touches the ball or not. 

 
The International Board issued a Circular on August 17, 2005, which 

reaffirmed the above approach.  As the Board stated (emphasis added): “A 
player in an offside position may be penalized before playing or touching the ball 
if, in the opinion of the referee, no other teammate in an onside position has the 
opportunity to play the ball.”  Further, “If an opponent becomes involved in the 
play and if, in the opinion of the referee, there is potential for physical contact, the 
player in the offside position shall be penalized for interfering with an opponent.”  
Finally, the Board confirmed the requirement that the indirect free kick restart for 
an offside offense is taken “from the initial place where the player was adjudged 
to be in an offside position.” 
 

All referees, instructors, and assessors should review these guidelines 
carefully.  It is important that officials understand and handle the offside offense 
in a correct, consistent, and realistic manner.  Personal interpretations which 
differ from the approach outlined here can only cause confusion and hard 
feelings on the part of players, team officials, and spectators. 

 
USSF will shortly distribute to the state associations and place on its 

website a PowerPoint presentation incorporating this clarification. 
 


