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Recent matches have caused considerable debate regarding the practical 
interpretation and application of advantage in obvious goalscoring opportunity 
situations.  Two clips are attached: one is from a match played on May 13, 
Chivas at New England Revolution, and the other is from the final of the UEFA 
Champion’s Cup, Arsenal against Barcelona (May 17).  The guidance below 
should not be considered a commentary on the actions of the referees in the 
respective matches – the clips are included only to provide a practical basis for 
responding to questions regarding the options available to a referee who has 
applied advantage to a foul which interferes with a goal or an obvious 
goalscoring opportunity. 
 

Some general principles need to be recalled: 
• Applying advantage is a decision of the referee, whereas calling out 

“Play on!” and swinging the arms upward (the verbal and visual 
signal) is only the announcement of the decision. 

• A sequence of plays can occur so quickly in a match involving 
skilled players that the conditions for an advantage decision may 
pass before it is possible to signal the decision.  Nevertheless, 
advantage has been applied if that was the referee’s decision. 

• The referee is expected to stop play within a short time (roughly, 2-
3 seconds) after the foul if the advantage does not develop or does 
not continue. 

• Advantage is a team concept and thus the advantage gained by a 
team when the referee decides not to stop play can be enjoyed by 
the player who was fouled as well as by any teammate of that 
player. 



 
Given a foul judged to be an interference with a goal or a goalscoring opportunity 
and given the referee’s decision to apply advantage, the following scenarios 
should be considered carefully: 

• If the advantage does not continue, the referee is expected to stop 
play as soon as this is evident.  The defender committing the foul 
must be sent off and shown the red card, and play must be 
restarted correctly (based on the foul and its location). 

 
• If the advantage continues and the attacking team is able to score a 

goal (regardless of whether it was by the attacker who was fouled 
or by a teammate), the defender who committed the foul may not 
be sent off (since a goal was not prevented and the team’s 
goalscoring opportunity was not interfered with successfully).  The 
misconduct would be more appropriately categorized as unsporting 
behavior (tactical foul) warranting a caution and the showing of the 
yellow card.  However, if the foul involved violent conduct or serious 
foul play, a red card must be given. 

 
In the Chivas-Revolution clip, Twellman (Revolution #20) was fouled by Llamosa 
(Chivas #11) at the 39th minute.  The referee applied advantage (though this is 
not evident from the clip).  Several seconds later, the referee judged that the 
advantage had been lost (the foul slowed Twellman sufficiently that an opponent 
was able to catch up to and challenge him).  The referee stopped play for the 
original foul and, prior to the restart, cautioned Llamosa.  If the original foul had 
been considered an interference with an obvious goalscoring opportunity (all 
elements for this misconduct – the “4 Ds” – were present), the correct referee 
action would have been to send off Llamosa for “denied goal by foul” (DGF). 

 
In the Arsenal-Barcelona clip, the referee stopped play after the Arsenal 
goalkeeper, Lehmann, fouled Barcelona’s Eto’o at the 18th minute at the top of 
the Arsenal penalty area.  Just after the whistle was blown, Barcelona teammate 
Giuly came streaking in from the right and struck the ball into the net.  The goal 
was canceled and Lehmann was sent off.  If the referee had allowed the 
advantage to develop, the offended team would have scored and, prior to the 
kick-off, Lehmann should have been cautioned.  The goal, regrettably, was not 
valid because the referee decided the advantage had not continued and stopped 
play before the ball was struck into the net.  Under these circumstances, the 
referee had no choice but to return to the original decision that a goalscoring 
opportunity had been denied – Lehmann was sent off and shown the red card. 
 


