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In response to requests for clarification of its earlier guideline on deception at the taking of a
penalty kick, the International Football Association Board (IFAB) published a circular in 2010
outlining the circumstances in which a player taking a penalty kick may act to deceive the
goalkeeper by performing a “feint” between the time the referee signals for the kick to be taken
and when the ball is considered to be “in play.” This memo provides those clarifications in
summary form, followed by several points of emphasis to assist referees in managing the

process.

A. On a penalty kick, if the kicker performs an illegal deception after the referee has blown

the whistle for the kick to be taken and before the ball is in play:

OUTCOME OF THE PENALTY KICK

PUNISHMENT
GOAL NO GOAL
INDIRECT FREE
KICK FROM THE
Ré(;i'l((;ll PLACE WHERE THE CAUTION?
INFRINGEMENT
OCCURRED

' Another teammate of the original kicker may take the kick if a retake is ordered.

’If this is a second caution, the kicker is sent off and shown the red card.

NOTE: If a player from the defending team also violates Law 14, the penalty kick is

retaken regardless of the outcome
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B. On a kick from the penalty mark (as part of a tie-breaking procedure), if the kicker
performs an illegal deception after the referee has blown the whistle for the kick to be
taken and before the ball is in play:

OUTCOME OF THE KICK FROM THE
MARK PUNISHMENT
GOAL NO GOAL
KICK IS KICK IS COMPLETE: 3
RETAKEN'® NO RETAKE? CAUTION

' Another teammate of the original kicker may take the kick if a retake is ordered.
However, a replacement kicker must still meet the requirement of the rules
governing “Kicks from the Penalty Mark” that no eligible player can kick an
additional time until all eligible players have kicked. If no teammate is available
who meets this requirement, the original kicker must kick the retake.

The kicker is, however, credited with having taken the kick and may not kick
again until all other eligible teammates have kicked the same number of times.

3 If this is a second caution, the kicker is sent off and shown the red card (the
opposing team does not “reduce to equate”).

Referees are reminded that they must still monitor other actions by the kicker which might also
violate Law 14 (or the kicks from the mark procedure). For example, the kicker must not take
such a long, convoluted run to the ball that, in the opinion of the referee, this action delays the
restart of play; the kicker must not run past the ball and then back up before kicking; and the
kicker must not make a hand or arm gesture which, in the opinion of the referee distracts or
deceives the goalkeeper.

The term “illegal deception” used above with respect to penalty kicks or kicks from the mark
refers to the action of the kicker described in USSF’s “Memorandum 2010’:

This would include clearly stopping and waiting for a reaction by
the goalkeeper before taking the kick or any similar clear
hesitation after the run to the ball is complete and before kicking
the ball into play. In other words, once the kicker has reached
the ball, the kick must be taken without hesitation or delay.
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