
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To: State Referee Administrators 
 State Youth Referee Administrators 
 State Directors of Referee Instruction and Assessment 
 Referee Committee 
 National Referees, National Instructors and National Assessors 
 
From: Alfred Kleinaitis 
 Manager of Referee Development and Education 
 
Re:  Penalty Kicks and the 2005-2006 Law Changes 
 
Date: June 13, 2005 
 
 Some questions have been raised regarding the impact of the 2005-2006 
changes in the Laws of the Game on Law 14 (Penalty Kicks).  Except for the two 
specific bullet points which were modified by the International Board (IFAB), 
neither Law 14 nor the manner in which it is administered has changed. 
 
 Law 14 has three distinct parts.  The first part identifies the infringements 
which will result in a penalty kick restart.  The second part outlines the steps the 
referee must take to manage the penalty kick restart.  No element in either of 
these parts was affected by the 2005-2006 Law changes. 
 
 The third part discusses the action the referee must take if a player 
infringes Law 14 itself – in other words, an infraction involving the penalty kick.  
As in the past, the referee had to consider who infringed Law 14 and what was 
the outcome of the kick.  This approach remains the same. 
 
 The only change in Law 14 for 2005-2006 is that an indirect free kick is 
now specified as the restart if an attacker infringes Law 14 and the ball does not 
go into the net.  The chart below summarizes this third part of Law 14: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Consequences of an Infringement of Law 14 
 

What was the outcome of the kick? Who infringed Law 14? 
Ball goes into goal Ball does not go into goal 

Attacker (including the 
kicker) 

 
RETAKE PENALTY KICK 

 
INDIRECT FREE KICK* 

Defender (including the 
goalkeeper) 

 
GOAL (KICK-OFF) 

 
RETAKE PENALTY KICK 

Both attacker and 
defender 
 

 
RETAKE PENALTY KICK 

 
RETAKE PENALTY KICK 

*From where the infringement occurred 
 
 The shaded area represents the only change in Law 14 announced this 
year.  Prior to 2005, the referee action when an attacker infringed Law 14 and the 
ball did not go into the net was to let play continue, except for the specific case 
where the ball rebounded from the goal post, crossbar, or goalkeeper back to the 
attacker who had encroached (indirect free kick).  The IFAB simply extended this 
restart beyond the special case to include all infringements by attackers when the 
ball does not enter the goal. 


